The conventional wisdom is that in most cases the choice of a link function is largely a matter of taste. This blog is a link function.

One-tailed, but significant.

online.ro: Trilulilu “sold”

with 5 comments

Disclaimer:

  • Usually, I do not write about such stuff, but now I think it is worth it – professionally speaking.
  • We were faculty colleagues with Sergiu Biris, so we somehow know each other – maybe it is too much to say that we “know” each other.
  • I am not a user/member of Trilulilu, just observing.
  • This is just an opinion/perception, so correct me if I am wrong.

First of all, I think it is a successful Romanian online project. Why? The stats (30%) and the brand (70%). So, I will try to say a few words about the brand.

Trilulilu has a rimmed structure. The online promotion (word of mouth, or post of mouth) started out very nicely, but the controversial Neogen offer was a boost in the brand value perception – more precisely, the business value perception. What happens now? The same controversial effects when the “buy-out” is announced. Calculus, calculum, press release (I don’t know you, but read them: Fluture (!!!), zoso and Sergiu). If it was a communicational strategy than nicely done, if not: luck.

In my opinion, the same reason that brought success to this project inevitably brought the selling as well. The brand. The whole Trilulilu project is/was interesting, because there was no actual need for this solution. (see Youtube). There was no need for another video-sharing platform, but is seems that there was a need for Trilulilu. Not being among the users, it is hard to say why, but than again the answer is: the brand. A personalized approach with much creativity. Nothing more. So, basically a need was created. Of course, very well communicated (on blogs, networking, and some good content aspects – Irinel, yeah!). This whole project is interesting, because of the position of this solution. Not because of the stats. The stats are some results that may have conditioned the buy-out – I’m sure they did.

The same aspect makes me to say that it is a good thing to sell Trilulilu now. I know, just 51 percent, but it is giving up the fundamental idea of the founders that stated: we want our own business. The aspect is saturation. What can you do from now? Technical enhancement, some lateral marketing, new solutions, blabla. This is management, not creation.

Take an example: the Trilulilu v2 was launched. I am sure that the playlist feature needed time, resources, ad it is something good. But: it does not bring anything new to the brand (well, integrated maybe). It is more like a consolidation. And that is management as well. I don’t see the revolutionary possibilities (regarding the brand), and this is why I can understand the choice of selling. If you came up with Trilulilu, created a brand that works and found its place, it is not that interesting to manage this success. This limitation means to me a selling argument.

Of course, there is the financial part as well. I don’t have inside information on these aspects, so I won’t comment on this. Just two things: 1. 2,5 million EURO for a project like this is not that much if there is some potential in it, although I am a bit skeptical with regard to the online.ro (no offense, there are many good projects, but the public….) and 2. I bet that the 300K investment was for the Trilulilu V2 (retroactive).

Nothing more to say, just congratulations and good luck!

Zee.

P.S: the press release here [ro, PDF].

Written by zoller

May 17, 2008 at 12:23 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. da

    dineata ionut

    May 18, 2008 at 10:45 am

  2. ???

    zoller

    May 18, 2008 at 11:28 am

  3. It’s awesome in favor of me to have a site, which is beneficial in support of my experience. thanks admin

    Aida

    June 23, 2013 at 10:16 pm

  4. Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this sensible article.

    fort max diet brazil

    June 24, 2013 at 1:05 am

  5. Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this website; this webpage includes remarkable and actually good data for visitors.

    Rena

    July 16, 2013 at 2:28 am


Leave a Reply

